top of page

Best new songs: Kid Cudi feat. Eminem, James Blake, Juice WRLD, Future Islands and more

Listen to the best songs released over the past 7 days featuring Juice WRLD, DMA's, Future Islands, Kid Cudi feat. Eminem, Sufjan Stevens, Dominic Fike and James Blake.

Click here to listen to the best of this week's releases on Spotify.


Kid Cudi feat. Eminem - The Adventures of Moon Man and Slim Shady (10 July)

On Wednesday (8th July), American rapper Kid Cudi announced (on Twitter via his daughter Vada) that he was dropping a new song with Eminem on Friday (9th July).

It’s been a busy year for Cudi (real name Scott Mescudi), releasing ‘Leader of the Delinquents’ in April, finishing up new album Energetic and starring in HBO’s coming of age series We Are Who We Are.

The collaboration see's Eminem referencing various themes from the murder of George Floyd to the COVID-19 pandemic, still proving himself as one of the sharpest rappers about.

James Blake - Are You Even Real? (9 July)

English singer-songwriter James Blake released ‘Are You Even Real?’ on Thursday. It's a beautiful track destined to pull at the heart strings due to Blake's soulful voice in reverb, piano and strings.

The song, which was recorded in Burbank, Los Angeles and New York, follows the success of last year's album Assume Form. Check it out below.

Juice WRLD feat. Marshmello - Come & Go (9 July)

A new song by deceased Chicago artist Juice WRLD was also released on Thursday, the fourth single from his posthumous new album Legends Never Die.

The new song features DJ Marshmello and is bound to be near the top of the charts come next Friday.

The catchy single can be listened to below.

Future Islands - For Sure (8 July)

Baltimore indie band Future Islands have returned with new song ‘For Sure’, showcasing their funky yet melancholic synth pop sound.

And their first new song in three years is definitely a return to form. You can watch the post apocalyptic short film below. Lead singer Sam Herring's signature dance moves are not included.

Dominic Fike - Politics & Violence (9 July)

Florida singer and rapper Dominik returns again this week with ‘Politics & Violence’. It’s a more chilled vibe to the infectious pop of ‘Chicken Tenders’, but it’s one that further grows the anticipation of his upcoming debut album.

Importantly for your writer, the video was filmed on location in Scotland with time-lapse photography and video projections and lyrics displayed onto Scottish hills and castle ruins.

Sufjan Stevens - America (3 July)

Indie folk artist Sufjan Stevens released his haunting new single ‘America’ last Friday (3 July), though those expecting a celebratory song in time for Independence Day will be disappointed.

At 12 minutes long it won't be for everyone. It's an epic journey with a singalong chorus, deep lyrics and haunting layers of electronics and guitars.

An intriguing listen if you fancy something a bit different.

Other new tracks getting spins & new album releases

AJ Tracey ft. Mabel - West Ten

Kanye West ft. Travis Scott - Wash Us In The Blood

Washed Out - Time to Walk Away

Ty Dolla $ign ft. Kanye West, FKA twigs & Skrillex - Ego Death

DMA's - Strangers

Matt Berninger - Serpentine Prison

Australian band DMA's released highly anticipated new album The Glow on Friday (10 July), with the NME describing it as a 'hyper-charged record of dance and decadence from the evolving Sydney trio'. Strangers and Cobracaine have already sprung up as favourites.

Birmingham rap outfit The Streets and American rapper Juice WRLD also released new records on Friday (10 July). Who said 2020 wasn't delivering?


You'll find this weeks new releases featured at the very bottom of my Best of 2020 | New Music playlist below or by clicking here to open up Spotify.


bottom of page